My Words Worth Like Barnes & Noble/Spit Hot Flames That’ll Harm Your Vocal.

via.

So you know that book discussion group thingie we started a couple months ago? It got off to a rollicking start with Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, and then rapidly flamed out with Edwidge Danticat’s Brother I’m Dying.

We weren’t alone in noticing the problem. belleisa, a regular reader, volunteered to be our designated books blogger, a brilliant idea we’re kicking ourselves for not having thought of first. She’s a writer and aspiring journalist* a  bibliophile (and Joss Whedon fan) from BK.** She’ll be writing about classics and contemporary black lit, and helping us get out literary ducks in a row over here at PB.

We’re happy to have her aboard here at PB. Show her some love, y’all.

*Don’t do it, sis!

** How small is this city? Turns out she and I go to the same gym. Wild.

19 thoughts on “My Words Worth Like Barnes & Noble/Spit Hot Flames That’ll Harm Your Vocal.

  1. ladyfresshh May 13, 2009 at 3:49 pm Reply

    yay i’ve been wondering what happened and just thought i kept missing the boat. I definitely need some nudging to get off my scifi bandwagon and hoped ya’ll would be able to help (or maybe not and i’d just read options on books i couldn’t bare to finish lol)

    Welcome Belleisa!

    • ladyfresshh May 13, 2009 at 3:56 pm Reply

      er..opinions…i meant opinions…sorry G.D.

  2. belleisa May 13, 2009 at 5:00 pm Reply

    I was going to say thanks in a post, but I thought it’d be hokey. So thank you guys for having me.

  3. Tiffany In Houston May 13, 2009 at 6:50 pm Reply

    Will you guys read any commercial fiction or black studies?? I mean I’m not talking street lit but my tastes run toward thrillers, horror, some mysteries and black studies. Sometimes I don’t want to get extremely highbrow.

    • G.D. May 13, 2009 at 7:13 pm Reply

      Junot Diaz and Oscar Wao aren’t commercial fiction?

      What do you mean highbrow?

      • Tiffany In Houston May 13, 2009 at 9:01 pm Reply

        GD – I would consider books like that to be more literary in nature and not more ‘popular’ fiction. That’s what I mean. Don’t be getting your hackles up.

        • G.D. May 13, 2009 at 9:12 pm Reply

          i didn’t realize that those books, what with their prolific best-selling celebrity authors, didn’t meet the criteria for commercial fiction.

          *shrugs*

          • Tiffany In Houston May 14, 2009 at 12:10 am Reply

            Dude, what are you talking about? I wasn’t defensive at all. And please miss me with the diagnosis.

  4. Tiffany In Houston May 13, 2009 at 6:51 pm Reply

    Sorry, welcome Belleisa.

  5. Aisha May 13, 2009 at 10:45 pm Reply

    Welcome Belleisa! I was so sad no one wanted to talk about Danticat.

    • shani-o May 13, 2009 at 11:45 pm Reply

      Oh, I wanted to. But somebody didn’t tell me it was going to be the book until the discussion started, and I didn’t have time to read it. *looks at G.D.*

      Although, I saw Danticat give a fantastic lecture months and months ago and I shoulda picked it up and read it immediately, like I’d planned.

      • universeexpanding May 14, 2009 at 7:21 am Reply

        I wanted to be involved but being as I am here in St. Vincent I had no access to the book unless I bought it on amazon or something and had it shipped in. You would think that I could buy a book by a Haitian writer here but nooooo. Bookstores here only sell books used in high school and community college booklists and texts. *smh* My country frustrates me.
        Also, hi Belleisa! Welcome to PB! 🙂

        • ladyfresshh May 14, 2009 at 9:55 am Reply

          i think i see how kindle can come in handy now…i think …what do you think?

          • universeexpanding May 14, 2009 at 6:25 pm Reply

            You know, I hadn’t thought of that at all! And you’re right – that would have been one easy way to potentially get the book. Now all I need is to find that sugar daddy to buy me a Kindle…

            • ladyfresshh May 15, 2009 at 3:20 pm Reply

              ouch i checked the price after i typed this
              =|
              mah apologies

    • quadmoniker May 14, 2009 at 4:22 pm Reply

      I tried 😦

  6. nichole May 15, 2009 at 11:40 am Reply

    welcome! welcome!

  7. blackink May 16, 2009 at 4:40 pm Reply

    I’ve been a really bad blogmate: Welcome, belleisa. Glad to have you aboard. Maybe you can get me reading books consistently again.

  8. Literanista May 20, 2009 at 12:23 am Reply

    Can’t wait to get in on the discussion…

Leave a Reply

