Book of the Month: Sag Harbor

image from Random House

Image from Random House

 I’ve already got my copy. You can find out more about Colson Whitehead  here and look through some of his other titles here. We’ll be discussing this book on the 15th of June.

We can save this for the discussion, but this is an early preview of a “new market,” for black folk. As an author at writeblack.com puts it: “look, black people are rich, too.”

I was going to give you a preview of the book, but Whitehead’s book trailer does a pretty good job.

10 thoughts on “Book of the Month: Sag Harbor

  1. universeexpanding May 14, 2009 at 6:42 pm Reply

    I will have to go ahead and get this one shipped in – I don’t want to miss out on this discussion. I ❤ colson whitehead since discovering him with his op-ed “Visible Man”. I knew nothing about him before that (okay I’m kinda ashamed about that). Anyway looking forward to reading this!

    • shani-o May 15, 2009 at 8:33 am Reply

      UE- that op-ed was gorgeous. I got excited about this book when I heard Whitehead talking about it on WNYC a few weeks ago.

      http://www.wnyc.org/shows/lopate/episodes/2009/04/29/segments/130415

      I really need to go get a copy.

      • shani-o May 18, 2009 at 7:53 pm Reply

        Okay, got my copy on Saturday, started it today, and was hooked by page two. I told Colson I was digging it, via Twitter (@ColsonWhitehead), and he actually responded to say he hoped I liked the rest of it. I’m officially a stan. 😀

  2. ladyfresshh May 15, 2009 at 10:53 am Reply

    ooh yay i wanted to read this one too

  3. KST May 16, 2009 at 6:40 pm Reply

    I just purchased this book over a week ago. Very excited about the discussion on 6/15!

  4. Winslowalrob May 16, 2009 at 8:13 pm Reply

    I wanted to read this anyways, so count me in.

  5. rikyrah May 17, 2009 at 10:44 pm Reply

    Had a 40% coupon from Borders, and just randomly found this on the shelf…can’t wait to read it.

  6. […] I digress. As you know, come June 15th, we’ll be talking about Colson Whitehead’s latest: Sag Harbor. […]

  7. […] reading companion to Colson Whitehead’s Sag Harbor May’s book pick which we will be discussing on June 15th: “What are the origins of the […]

  8. […] you didn’t get a chance to read, here are a few sneak […]

Leave a Reply

