Friday Random/Genius Ten: Back To School Special.

Summer’s over. I know you don’t want to hear it, but it is. Bright side: aren’t you glad to have the streets free from roaming packs of teenagers? This week’s Friday Random theme is: songs that remind us of going back school.

Blackink is busy with, like…real life work and stuff, so you’re stuck with me this week. I’m running with this opportunity and starting the list off with a little Lupe Fiasco (who is criminally underrated by some of my cobloggers).

[Vimeo 2984041]

1. And He Gets The Girl – Lupe Fiasco (shani-o)

2. Me and Giuliani Down by the School Yard (A True Story) – !!! (Chk Chk Chk) (Jamelle)

3. Back to Life – Soul II Soul (Blackink)

4. Sittin’ Up In My Room – Brandy (UniverseExpanding)

5. It’s Saturday – Marcy Playground (shani-o)

6. Git Up, Get Out – OutKast (Blackink)

7. Got You Where I Want You – The Flys (shani-o)

8. I Missed The Bus – Kriss Kross (Blackink)

9. What’s Next – Leaders of the New School (G.D.)

10. Everybody’s Free (To Wear Sunscren) – Baz Luhrmann (shani-o)

15 thoughts on “Friday Random/Genius Ten: Back To School Special.

  1. fidel negro August 21, 2009 at 3:21 pm Reply

    Loose Ends – Slow Down

  2. quadmoniker August 21, 2009 at 3:47 pm Reply

    I meant to add “How to See the Sun Rise” by Ben Sollee! Sorry.

    • shani-o August 21, 2009 at 4:08 pm Reply

      I was wondering if you actually even listened to music, lol. We’ll bug you specifically next week.

      • quadmoniker August 23, 2009 at 9:39 am Reply

        I think there are rumors that I don’t 😉

  3. FilthyGrandeur August 21, 2009 at 4:50 pm Reply

    who is criminally underrated by some of my cobloggers

    and by some of my real-life friends (my fiance included). i adore lupe.

    • blackink12 August 21, 2009 at 7:00 pm Reply

      I’m probably going to have to apologize for this – I suspect Shani was partly referring to me.

      I just … whew … I just find homie kinda boring. /ducks for cover

      • FilthyGrandeur August 21, 2009 at 7:02 pm Reply

        kinda boring??

        yeah, i’ll give you a five minute head start. after that, well…no promises.

      • G.D. August 23, 2009 at 3:25 pm Reply

        i gotta agree. i don’t get dude’s appeal. to each her own, i guess.

        • FilthyGrandeur August 23, 2009 at 3:26 pm Reply

          :::cries:::

          • shani-o August 24, 2009 at 11:27 am Reply

            I’m with you Filthy. They just. don’t. know.

            • FilthyGrandeur August 24, 2009 at 12:32 pm Reply

              it’s really quite sad, actually

              • blackink12 August 24, 2009 at 4:11 pm Reply

                I’m just glad to know I wasn’t the only one.

  4. LJ August 24, 2009 at 1:51 pm Reply

    Summer is not over until September 22nd, the first day of fall. School summer vacation ending has no effect on the actual seasons.

    • G.D. August 24, 2009 at 2:28 pm Reply

      You seem like a lot of fun.

    • shani-o August 24, 2009 at 2:53 pm Reply

      Are you sure about that? I always thought the planet adjusted its rotation to suit my alma mater’s spring break.

Leave a Reply

